Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
lakoliwclk diary
24 décembre 2009

You Win if You Finish

I BEGAN swimming competitively when I was 6. My mom drove me to 5:30 a.m. practices. While I trained, she would sit in the car and fall asleep. As a high school senior, I was captain of the swimming team. The team became close. We thought green hair from chlorine was normal.

When my brother was 14, he climbed a tree and was shocked by a power line. He had his right arm and leg amputated. He was in intensive care and spent six to eight months learning how to walk on a prosthetic limb.

Six years later, in February 1982, my brother and I were watching an Ironman competition on TV. Julie Moss was leading the women’s competition when she stumbled and fell. She crawled her way to the finish line. (An Ironman triathlon has a 2.4-mile swim, a 112-mile bike ride and a 26.2-mile run.) We looked at each other afterward and said, “Wouldn’t it be great if we could do that race?

Two years later, my brother competed in a sprint triathlon, with a 0.47-mile swim, a 12.4-mile bike ride and a 3.1-mile run, at the University of Central Florida. I thought, “If he can do it, I can do it.”

In 1986, I competed in a similar sprint triathlon. I was two miles into the bike ride when my bike’s left pedal came off. I spent about 30 minutes trying to get it back on. I couldn’t. I carried the pedal and rode the next 10 miles on my right leg. My brother met me at the transition between the bike ride and the run.

“Why are you going so slow?” he asked. I said, “I decided to do it on one leg like you.” What mattered most was finishing.

At the University of Florida, I majored in mechanical engineering. I loved the idea of constructing something. When I graduated in 1991, I got a job with Babcock & Wilcox as a resident engineer treating chemicals so they could be reused in paper processing.安全工程师考试 安全工程师考试试题 安全工程师考试报名 安全工程师考试时间 安全工程师考试内容 安全工程师考试试题 安全工程师考试成绩查询法律知识:法律知识热点 安全工程师法律知识热点 法律知识热点辅导 法律知识热点问题法律知识试题 安全工程师法律知识试题 法律知识试题及答案 法律知识试题下载 历年安全工程师法律知识试题 法律知识模拟试题 法律知识模拟试卷管理知识: 管理知识测试安全工程师管理知识 安全工程师管理知识试题安全工程师试题 安全工程师题及答案 安全工程师试题下载安全工程师模拟题 安全工程师模拟试卷生产技术:安全工程师生产技术指导 安全工程师生产技术技巧生产技术试题 安全工程师生产技术试题 安全工程师生产技术真题及答案生产技术模拟试题 安全工程师生产技术模拟题案例: 安全工程师案例 案例成绩查询案例试题 安全工程师案例试题 安全工程师案例试题及答案 安全工程师案例经验技巧安全工程师案例模拟试题

About two years later, the company sent me to consult on a project in Venezuela. I didn’t speak Spanish. I had an English-Spanish dictionary, and during my flight memorized as many Spanish words as I could. I was the only one in the plant who spoke English, so I became pretty fluent in Spanish.

A little over a year later, I was sent to Thailand for six months. I tried to pick up the Thai language but it was incredibly difficult.

When I returned to the United States, I was sent to the company’s office in Chapel Hill, N.C., then to Orlando, Fla. In 1995, when I was starting work on a project in Orlando, I decided to quit my job and become an information technology consultant. I was 27.

I also began training for triathlons again. I was one of the top 10 in my age group to qualify in the Gulf Coast Triathlon, a half-Ironman event, so I could compete in the 1996 Ironman Triathlon World Championship in Hawaii. I finished in 11 hours, 12 minutes, 44 seconds — 692nd of 1,289 participants.

In Hawaii, I met Dr. James P. Gills, then an owner of the World Triathlon Corporation, which owned the Ironman trademark and operated and licensed races. Two years later, a board member called me to consult on an I.T. project. I consulted for two years and then was asked to become vice president for I.T. I turned it down; the timing wasn’t right.

A year later, I got another call. This time I accepted the offer. In 2004, the C.E.O. stepped down. The board invited several people to submit business plans about the direction of the company. I was one of them. I was voted in as C.E.O.

脑出血脑溢血 脑出血的治疗 重症脑出血的治疗 脑出血的保健 脑出血的症状 脑出血后遗症 脑出血的原因 脑出血病人的护理 脑溢血的症状 脑溢血前兆 脑血栓与脑出血区别 脑出血的护理 高血压引起的脑出血 脑出血前兆 新生儿脑出血 脑溢血能治好吗 脑溢血后遗症 脑溢血的治疗 脑溢血会遗传吗 预防脑溢血 婴儿脑出血症状 轻微脑出血症状 脑出血的护理措施 脑出血发生原因 新生儿脑出血的原因 脑出血病人的饮食 脑溢血手术 什么是脑溢血 脑出血药物治疗 脑出血严重吗 脑出血怎么办 脑出血后期治疗 脑出血的并发症 癫痫 癫痫的症状 癫痫的治疗 癫痫的保健 癫痫急救 癫痫的病因 小儿癫痫 癫痫病能治愈吗 治疗癫痫病最好的药 小儿癫痫的症状 小儿癫痫能治好吗 小儿癫痫病的治疗 小儿癫痫的种类 小儿癫痫的原因 新生儿癫痫病症状 癫痫的症状表现 中医治疗癫痫病 癫痫病怎么治疗 如何治疗癫痫病 癫痫遗传吗 癫痫要怎样诊断检查 小儿的癫痫护理措施 癫痫的护理方 治癫痫的药物 癫痫患者饮食的原则 癫痫患者发作怎么办 治癫痫病偏方 癫痫症的前期 短暂性脑缺血 短暂性脑缺血发作 短暂性脑缺血的症状 什么叫一过性脑缺血发作 短暂性脑缺血发作护理 短暂性脑缺血发作的概念 一过性脑缺血症状 短暂性脑缺血发作指南 短暂性脑缺血发作治疗 短暂性脑缺血治疗 短暂性脑缺血发作分析 短暂性脑缺血的护理 抖动性短暂性脑缺血 脑缺血 一过性脑缺血治疗 脑梗塞 脑梗塞的症状 什么是腔隙性脑梗塞 脑梗塞的饮食 脑梗塞的治疗 脑梗塞吃什么好 轻微脑梗塞 急性脑梗塞 脑梗塞后遗症 腔隙性脑梗塞症状 脑梗塞和脑血栓症状 多发性脑梗塞的症状 轻微脑梗塞症状 腔隙性脑梗塞的治疗 多发腔隙性脑梗塞 腔隙性脑梗塞的饮食 腔隙性脑梗塞好治吗 脑梗塞的饮食治疗 脑梗塞的护理 治疗脑梗塞的药物 多发性脑梗塞治疗 脑梗塞吃什么药好 脑梗塞不能吃什么 脑梗塞能吃什么 轻微脑梗塞的治疗 脑梗塞后遗症的护理 脑梗塞的防治 脑梗塞的病因 腔隙性脑梗塞的预防 脑梗塞与脑血栓的区别 脑梗塞CT表现与梗塞类及病期 脑梗塞和脑血栓的鉴别 脑梗塞发病征兆 中医治疗脑梗塞后遗症 什么叫大面积脑梗塞 大面积脑梗塞怎样治疗 什么是小脑梗塞 脑梗死的治疗与护理 局限性脑梗塞诊断鉴别 局限性脑梗塞临床表现 重度脑梗塞 脑梗塞的物理治疗 脑梗塞发病时的症状 脑更塞的症状 脑内腔隙性脑梗塞 基底节区腔隙性梗塞 脑梗塞注意什么 脑梗塞能治愈吗 脑梗塞保健 局限性脑梗塞的治疗 

In September 2008, Dr. Gills sold World Triathlon to Providence Equity Partners, which created a new holding company, World Endurance Holdings. I have an equity stake and am part owner.

From the day I saw my first Ironman triathlon competition nearly 28 years ago, I knew I had to compete in it. I’ve turned this lifelong passion into a dynamic career.

key local king knowledge information ikn life better best kong kitchen data music more health hook land more music Kootenay Kurt dog doctor donkey dozen lesson Boston book business Hannah henna Linda babe board Kootenay kentucky loop list length lens anyone veer et kernel kooky km million may kid Keith

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
lakoliwclk diary
Publicité
Publicité